Apps I Like: A Present for Milo

I have had the good fortune to win several of the Ruckus Media Group Rabbit Ears apps over the last few months. While I like these (they are all professionally narrated by Hollywood actors and feature great artwork and music), I was especially eager to sample their first original story, A Present for Milo. Since it’s only available for the iPad, I had to wait until my new iPad2 arrived last week in order to try it out.

While the plot is a bit lightweight, the artwork is really cute and lively, and the app features playful characters chasing each other through the house. What really makes this app stand out from the pack is all the interactivity–there are more than a hundred animations hidden throughout the book. I especially like that something new happens the second and third time a character is tapped, which rewards a kid’s natural curiosity. A Present for Milo is perfect for preschool kids, and does a great job of taking advantage of the iPad’s features and format.

This video is the official sneak peek trailer. See, I told you it was cute! Oh, by the way: A Present for Milo has also won several awards, including a Mom’s Choice Award and an About.com Reader’s Choice Award. Nicely done!

(Full disclosure: I received a copy of this app for review purposes.)

Chime in!

